Don't Trash It! Up-cycle! / Let's Get Crafty

Crown Royal bottle with chalk paint

2013-10-17 08.18.23I am trying to re-purpose old bottles and have had a couple of local bars collect bottles for me.  My strong desire is to create one of a kind pendant lights, but cutting the glass has proven to be a challenge.

I saw a post where they put colored lights in Crown Royal bottles and turned them into night lights.  I will try that yet!

But, I have some light blue chalk paint to use up, and this homemade stuff sticks to about anything so I thought I’d give it a whirl.

I painted the bottle black first so I could make it look more vintage.  When it dried, I brushed on 2 coats of chalk paint and then had to be patient while it dried.  Okay, so I wasn’t patient and tried to distress it too early–hence the second coat!

After it dried I took a new kitchen scrub sponge and just scrubbed it straight across the bottle to remove the paint from the raised spots.  Then I held a stencil over the center and scraped glass off with the tip of a dried up marker.  See, about anything still has some use left in it!

The M is the initial of my daughter’s future last name. 🙂

Leave a Reply

