Something's Cooking

The best low carb enchilada bake!

I’ve been in such a rush preparing for my mom’s birthday party, that I had this ready to post last night and completely forgot to do it!  Ah, well.  So, last night I’m running around like a crazy woman.  I needed to make something for the potluck dinner tonight.  I wanted fast, good, low-carb, easy to transport and something most people would like.  Not much to ask for one entree, huh?

I stumbled across Linda’s Low Carb Enchilada Bake and thought it sounded perfect!  So, I made one pan for the party and one for supper.  Just doubled up all the ingredients and split it up.  Now, that’s a timesaver. 🙂  Off and on, I get back to being really organized and do that.  Make double batches of things and freeze one for later.  It’s really nice to have a homemade dinner just waiting in the freezer.

DSC00389

This called for a crust, something you miss having on low carb.  I looked at the ingredients and was a bit skeptical, but let me tell you–that crust was fabulous!  Below are the ingredients for one single batch that you make in a 9×13 pan.  I just doubled it all for mine.

Crust:

4 ounces softened cream cheese

3 eggs

1/3 cup heavy cream

1/2 teaspoon low carb taco seasoning (or mix your own spices like I did:  homemade low carb taco seasoning)

8 oz shredded cheddar

Beat the cream cheese until smooth and creamy and then beat in the eggs.  Add the cream and seasoning and mix it well.  Stir in the cheese and then spread in a 9×13 and bake at 375 degrees for 25-30 minutes.  When it is set up and slightly brown, it is ready.  Let stand for 5 minutes to set.

Topping:

1 lb hamburger

3 tsp low carb taco seasoning

8 1/2 ounce jar enchilada or taco sauce

4 oz chopped green chilis (I substituted 1 can mexican corn for the potluck dish)

8 oz shredded cheddar

Brown the hamburger, drain the fat and then stir in everything but the cheddar cheese. Top with cheese, lower oven temp to 350 and bake another 20 minutes until hot and bubbly.

Serve with your choice of toppings–but this will add extra carbs.

Makes 8-12 servings with 4.5 or 3 net carbs per serving.

DSC00390

Leave a Reply

