Don't Trash It! Up-cycle! / Let's Get Crafty

Make a jewelry box out of an old shadow box

My new Jewelry Box

Jewelry box

I  bought this old wooden divided box at a garage sale and wasn’t sure what i was going to do with it.  I decided to paint it to match the makeup holder and use it as a jewelry box.

I just washed it, and then applied a coat of light yellow paint.  Then I put on a coat of the pale blue chalk paint I’ve used here recently.  After that, I just screwed some cup hangers in the top of the longest boxes for necklaces and put out a few pieces of jewelry.

I’m still dreaming up other things I might like to do–like find a way to hook more rings.  Possibly decorating the box with some of the “wedding practice” flowers I’ve been making lately. 🙂

It’s a simple way to display some of your jewelry and keep it out in the open so you can just see what you want and grab it to put it on.

Leave a Reply

