Something's Cooking

DIY Caramel Apple Suckers

I don’t know many people who don’t love the caramel apple suckers that you can buy at the store and Lilyshop had a web page on how to do them yourself, so I figured I’d give it a try.

IMG_3521

You’ll need parchment paper or a silpat, candy sticks, caramels and apple jolly ranchers.

IMG_3523

Lilyshop recommended arranging your jolly ranchers in this fashion so that you don’t end up with an elongated oval sucker.

IMG_3524

Put them in a 350 degree oven for 4-1/2 minutes.  Mine were bubbly on the edges but not quite melted all of the way in the middle.

I would suggest not using plastic sticks, but they’re all that I had.  Twist the sticks in immediately to secure them in place.

Let them harden for five minutes.

IMG_3525

Since I’m only making two suckers, I decided to put a handful of caramels on a plate instead of mixing them in a bowl with water.  I put the caramels in the microwave for 30 seconds then stirred them up.

IMG_3527

Then I slathered the suckers with the caramel.  Now they’re in the refrigerator for an hour – actually until morning when I have to take one to work for my co-worker.  They should be delicious!  Can’t go wrong with jolly ranchers and caramel:)

Leave a Reply

