Don't Trash It! Up-cycle! / Let's Get Crafty

Lipsticker: a vertical magnetic makeup holder

With my daughter in a dorm room and my mom in a dorm-room-sized long term care room, I am always drawn to space savers on Pinterest or anywhere else I see ideas.  Pottery Barn has  a teen storage mirror that is awesome (and pricey!)

Ana White, has plans to make this and it is on my list of things to do.  http://ana-white.com/2011/03/rotating-teen-storage-unit

Of course, I need to get some woodworking skills first, lol.  I was going to say “hone my woodworking skills”, but that would be a lie.  I have none.

One aspect of these units, is the vertical space used for hanging things:  white board, cork board, chalk board and metal sections that you can hang things on with magnets.  Some much storage in one little spot!

I decided to try and see if the magnetic thing worked.  So, I took an old cookie sheet and scrubbed it down really good and then slapped on some of my favorite greenish/blue paint.  Then I took out some makeup and a magnet roll.  I cut a piece of magnet and pressed it well to the back of different makeup items.

Things I learned:

1) You need a pretty big hunk of magnet to hold some things on the metal.  So, don’t skimp!

2) Some things just won’t stick–and so I need to be making some thing else that is flat on the back to stick brushes, etc  in.

3) The magnet glue is not very strong–so some things need to be glued on with better glue.

I painted some quick little flowers in bright colors–just because they make me smile! 🙂

2013-10-02 19.16.35

Then I stuck the make up on the tray….

2013-10-02 19.17.12And, finally put it to the test.  Will it hold the makeup when it is vertical?

2013-10-02 19.17.26Yes, yes!  Yes, it will! 🙂

Now to attach it to my laundry room dresser turned hamper cupboard……

Leave a Reply

