Something's Cooking

Low Carb Stuffed Green Peppers

Well, back on the low carb wagon.  With my oldest daughter getting married next year and my mom’s recent liver complications from her diabetes, it is time to start taking my weight seriously.  Not just for looks, but also for health.

Growing up, I was a very skinny child and weighed 135 pounds when I was 9 months pregnant with my first child.  Four kids later, major back problems that canceled my 3 mile a day walk and advancing years–and I am very out of shape.  And out of my weight range.  Sigh.

So, food is one of my favorite things.  Not just eating it, but preparing it, and using it to feed and spoil my family.  Unfortunately for me, many of my favorite things to cook are high carb.  Lasagna with garlic bread on the side, homemade chicken noodle soup over mashed potatoes, roast with potatoes and carrots.  You get the picture–pasta, bread, potatoes.  Carbs, carbs, carbs.

So, finding good recipes that I love and love me back is a challenge.  Mexican is a favorite dish of mine and I’ve tried lots of different variations, but this is one of my favorite.

Green Peppers stuffed with seasoned hamburger, onions, olives, tomatoes and something green–spinach, broccoli or kale.  With cheese!  Yummmy….

2013-09-26 18.46.49

Low carb eating means you cook.  There are no vending machine quick snacks or many drive thru items you can eat.  So, when I cook I make enough to freeze for later.

STUFFED PEPPERS

4 large green peppers, cut in half with the seeds taken out

2013-09-26 17.59.03

1 1/2 pounds ground beef
1 chopped onion
1 minced garlic clove

2013-09-26 17.59.11
1 or 2 tomatoes chopped

Homemade taco seasoning (to cut out the sugar that is added to Everything)

Below are the ingredients for a single serving of the Homemade Taco seasoning I use.

You can add the ingredients directly to browned burger:

1 T chili powder

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon onion powder

1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

1/4 teaspoon dried oregano

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 teaspoon sea salt

pepper to taste

2013-09-26 18.00.04

8 oz of shredded cheddar, mozzarella or a mix of your favorite cheeses (6 ounces in dish & 2 oz for topping)

Place your halved peppers in a pot and just cover with cold water.  Bring to a boil and let boil for 3 minutes then drain the water off the peppers and set aside.

Meanwhile, brown the garlic & onion in a tablespoon of butter.  Once these are done, add the burger and cook it until it is done.  Add the spices to the meat mixture and stir well.

  Add the chopped tomato to the skillet and just stir until the tomato is hot.

Remove your pan from the heat and add 6 oz of shredded cheese and stir.

Put the pepper halves in a greased baking pan and fill with the meat mixture.

Sprinkle the extra cheese on top. Bake at 350º for 20-25 minutes.

2013-09-26 18.24.47

Leave a Reply

