Let's Get Crafty

UPDATE***Toilet Bombs Test Drive UPDATE***

Testing out the recipe for Maria’s Self Toilet Bombs.

Her recipe calls for:

1-1/3 cup baking soda

1/2 cup citric acid

30 drops lavender essential oil

30 drops peppermint essential oil

30 drops lemon essential oil

I halved my recipe because I’m just testing it out to see how well it works for me.  If it works, I might try a full recipe later on down the line.

IMG_3403

IMG_3404

So I mix the baking soda and citric acid together first.

IMG_3405

Then I add my essential oils slowly as to not create fizzing.  This is all the different it looked.  Didn’t know how these would ever set up in a silicone mold – or an ice cube tray at my house.  So I added a little water and it fizzed a lot!  Probably screwed them up, but I went ahead and stirred them together and put them in my ice cube tray.

IMG_3406

I noticed that they immediately started to grow.  I took some off of the first two rows and made another couple of cubes.

Let them dry for about six hours.

IMG_3435

The inflated tons, then sunk to a crispy mess.  So I tried again, mixing my baking soda with the oils and then adding the citric acid and just a drop of water.  Same result just not as exaggerated.

Third try this evening after my mom bought me more baking soda in Manhattan.  I didn’t add any water.  Resisted the temptation!

IMG_3467

I spooned it into candy molds and pressed it down.  Still have about four hours for them to dry but I’m not optimistic that they’ll harden into a cute little drop in tablet:(  I give up.

IMG_3474

****UPDATE****  They worked!!!!!  Miss Impatient 2013 should have waited the six hours before posting this.  When I got up for work at 4 a.m., I checked, flipped the mold over and one actually popped out!  It might take a little more work to get the others out, but they worked!

3 thoughts on “UPDATE***Toilet Bombs Test Drive UPDATE***

  1. Oh no. I’m so disappointed that these didn’t work. It sounded like a great idea- the essential oils and baking soda certainly beats yucky chemical air fresheners. I’ve been meaning to make air freshener using a vinegar mix with essential oils.

Leave a Reply

