Let's Get Crafty

DIY Silicone Mold

First of all I have to direct you to this video that I watched on YouTube DIY Silicone Mold.  She gives terrific instructions.  I just obviously didn’t follow them quite right, but good enough for this evening.

IMG_3449

What you’ll need is some silicone adhesive, a caulking gun and cornstarch.

IMG_3450

I poured the entire box of corn starch in a bowl because I couldn’t remember how much I was supposed to use.

IMG_3451

Then I started adding the silicone adhesive.  She used clear.  Mine was white.

IMG_3452

Start mixing it by hand, but I’ll warn you the fumes are horrible!!!  I was coughing up a storm and it stank really bad!

IMG_3453

Mix it until it’s not sticky anymore and is pliable.

IMG_3455

Roll out to about 3/8″ thick or so.

IMG_3457

Cut the edges off…

IMG_3458

so it looks nice and pretty.  Put it on a towel or other padded surface.

IMG_3459

Then smush your objects in that you want to make a mold of but don’t push them all of the way through.

Let them sit for 90 minutes.  Then pop out.  The silicone mold is pliable even when set.

IMG_3460

My wood elephant didn’t work very well but the others worked pretty good.  I knew the fish lock wasn’t going to quite work all of the way because I couldn’t get it down far enough.

IMG_3462

Then I filled them with some melt and pour soap base and let them sit for about half an hour.

IMG_3464

Popped them out and I’m pretty happy with them:)  I need to clean the rest of the crud off of them.  She didn’t have to do that in her video, so please watch her video before attempting this!

Leave a Reply

