Something's Cooking

Bacon wrapped cream filled chicken breasts.

What is better than bacon?  Bacon AND cheese!  I am starting my low carb eating again.  I need to shed these pounds!  I can tell you, this dish does not feel like “diet” food to me!

Maybe because it is also topped with creamed spinach.  Now, I never would have believed that would have come out of my mouth, without gross! following it, lol.  I guess you do grow into your taste buds.  But this is really rich and very good.

2013-09-23 19.08.13

You need:

For chicken breasts:

Flattened chicken breasts

garlic clove

pad of butter

softened cream cheese (1/2 box for 5 chicken breasts)

2 slices of bacon per breast

And for Creamed Spinach:

small chopped vidalia onion

garlic clove

2 T butter

1 bag of fresh spinach

1/2 box of softened cream cheese

1 cup shredded mozzarella

Take your chicken breasts and pound them until they are bit flatter.  Trim the fat off of each breast.  Then, peel and crush a garlic clove and rub over the breasts.

2013-09-23 17.54.39

Meanwhile, saute your onion & garlic in a bit of butter.  (I roped Tony into stirring this, while I prepared the rest)

2013-09-23 17.54.02Then spread cream cheese over each chicken breast and fold them up to cover the cream cheese.

Cook your bacon part way through.  I cook mine in the microwave on one of those great little bacon cookers.  I cooked it for half the time and it was still pliable but partially cooked.

Then wrap your chicken breasts with bacon.  You can use toothpicks to hold it all in place–but I didn’t do that and it worked just fine!

You can see them here after about 10 minutes in the oven.  You will want to cook them for about 1/2 an hour at 350 degrees.

2013-09-23 18.34.29

While the chicken is cooking, continue with your Creamed Spinach.  Once the onion & garlic is lightly browned, add the bag of spinach.  It will look like a TON of spinach and within a couple of minutes will shrink up to almost nothing.

2013-09-23 18.05.25

Once it is cooked down, add the other half of the cream cheese packet and stir until it is melted.  I then added a cup of shredded mozzarella for more flavor. 🙂

2013-09-23 18.06.40

After about 30 minutes, check to make sure your chicken is done all the way through.

2013-09-23 19.06.49

To serve, we put a chicken breast on the plate and top with a spoonful of creamed spinach.  Oops!  I forgot I was photographing for the blog and put on a bit too much!

2013-09-23 19.08.13Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

