Something's Cooking

Healthy Detox Soup aka Soup

The recipe today is from Fried Pies & Fireflies for a Healthy Detox Soup.  Don’t know about the detox, but I like soup:)

IMG_3407

Ingredients they called for (what I may have used instead!):

1-1/4 lbs. lean ground beef, turkey or chopped chicken – cook, drain and set aside. (I used 1 lb of angus burgers that were in the freezer)

1 large onion, peeled and chopped (my onion wasn’t looking too healthy, so I got about 1/2 an onion in my soup)

1 large red, orange and/or green pepper, seeded and chopped (I chose green because it was cheaper than the others)

1 large zucchini, chopped (large? see comment and picture below)

8 oz. mushrooms, chopped

2 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped

1 bottle (46 oz) vegetable cocktail juice (aka V8)

1 can (15 oz) black beans, rinsed and drained

1 can (14 oz) crushed tomatoes

1 tablespoon fresh lime juice (I had some bottled stuff)

1 tablespoon ground cumin

1 tablespoon Morton’s Nature Seasoning (I didn’t have this, so I skipped it)

1/4 cup each fresh cilantro and parsley leaves, chopped (I had some cilantro frozen that I tossed in.  Didn’t use the parsley – and probably lost the detox, too!)

IMG_3408

In a skillet over medium-high heat, brown your meat.  Remove from skillet and drain, then toss in the crock pot.

IMG_3409

In the same pan, cook onions, peppers, zucchini, mushrooms and garlic 5 minutes or until vegetables are crisp-tender.

IMG_2925

The recipe called for a “large” zucchini so when I went to the store I was amazed how small their zucchini were!  These are two of the zucchini my daughter and her fiance grew.  Almost toddler sized zucchini wouldn’t fit in my crock pot anyway!  LOL!

When your done with the veggies, toss them in the crock pot, too.

IMG_3410

Stir in the drained and rinsed black, beans, tomatoes, lime juice, spices, cilantro and parsley, if you have it.

IMG_3411

I still had half a bag of coleslaw mix left from making egg rolls the other night, so I tossed it into the crockpot, too.  I’m letting the whole thing cook until lunch time instead of cooking it on the stove first.

IMG_3433

Well, I couldn’t wait until it was smoking hot and ate a bowl.  Definitely delicious.  I’ll have to make this recipe again especially when it’s cold outside:)

Leave a Reply

