Something's Cooking

Maple Bacon Monkey Bread

I was searching for something to make tonight that used bacon.  Ahh, beautiful bacon:)  Came across keyingredient‘s recipe for maple bacon monkey bread and thought “awesome, I have all of the ingredients for that”!

What you’ll need:

2 tablespoons butter or margarine

2 tablespoons real maple syrup

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon ground red pepper (I just had flakes, so in they went!)

6 slices of bacon, crisply cooked, crumbled

2 cans (8 oz. each) Pillsbury crescent dinner rolls or sheets

IMG_3384

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and spray a 8 x 4 loaf pan or a round dish if you’re like me and didn’t think the loaf pan looked big enough.

IMG_3385

Microwave the butter and syrup 30-45 seconds or until hot.  Stir in the brown sugar and red pepper until dissolved (red pepper flakes don’t dissolve, so don’t wait for them).  Stir in the bacon and spoon the mixture into the pan/bowl.

IMG_3386

Unroll the crescents and stack them together.  The site I went to suggest cutting them into 8 columns by 3 rows.  I don’t follow directions very well, but I ended up with the same 24 pieces that they did:)  I cut mine with a pizza cutter because it seemed like the easiest way to do it.

IMG_3387

Roll the pieces up into balls and place on top of the bacon maple mixture.

Bake for 30-35 minutes or until the crescents are golden brown.

IMG_3388

Take out of the oven and let sit for five minutes.

IMG_3389

Invert on a plate and viola!  You have an ooey gooey maple bacon treat!

People who know me will know I’m not telling a lie when I say I ate half the pan while my pictures were uploading!  They’re pretty darned awesome!

Leave a Reply

