Don't Trash It! Up-cycle! / Let's Get Crafty

Beer Bottle Candle

I gave it one more shot with that stinking bottle cutter and still didn’t get a clean break, but I figure my son and his roommate won’t mind if the bottle is cut straight or not.

IMG_3363

I sanded the edges of the bottle with pretty coarse grit sand paper so that the boys wouldn’t get cut on it if they picked it up from the top.

IMG_3364

Then I grabbed my block of paraffin, the package of wood wicks, some coloring and some scent.  I thought the boys could use “fresh rain” in their house:)

IMG_3365

Cut off the amount of paraffin I thought I would need.  It’s always hard to guess this for me.  I put it in the microwave for a couple of minutes and POOF! the microwave shot craps.  Guess that’s my lesson not to melt wax in the microwave:/

IMG_3366

So I transferred it to a pan that I’ve already ruined with paraffin and melted it on the stove top.

IMG_3368

After melting it, I put some of the coloring and scent into the melted paraffin.  Apparently color for soap won’t work in paraffin.  I thought it was all the same stuff.  Second lesson learned tonight!  After putting the wood wick in it’s little stand and placing it in the bottle, I proceeded to fill the bottle with the melted paraffin.

IMG_3370

After it sets up all of the way, I’ll cart it down to Manhattan to my son.  I think he’ll like it:)

Leave a Reply

