Something's Cooking

5-Minute Microwave Apple Cinnamon Crumble for One

I saw averiecooks recipe for this on Pinterest and thought I would try it tonight.

IMG_3350

This is what the recipe in the link called for:

Crumble Topping:

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened

2 tablespoons light brown sugar, packed

2 tablespoons old-fashioned whole rolled oats (after testing this, I would try quick oats)

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon (I’d cut it to half a teaspoon)

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg (I’d half this, too)

Apple Mixture:

1 medium/large apple, diced in about 1/4″ cubes (doesn’t have to be peeled  – I’d add some raisins or another small fruit to soak up some of the sugar and cinnamon)

1/2 tablespoon unsalted butter

2 tablespoons light brown sugar (I’d only use 1 tablespoon after trying the recipe)

1 tablespoon granulated sugar (maybe only 1/2 tablespoon)

1 teaspoon cornstarch (I didn’t have any)

1 teaspoon cinnamon (1/2 would work)

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg (1/4 would be enough)

IMG_3351

In a small bowl, combine all of the ingredients for the crumble topping.  Mix with a fork until it starts clumping together like little peas.  Sit to the side for awhile.

IMG_3352

For the apple part of the dish, combine the apples and butter.  Put in the microwave for a minute on high.

IMG_3353

Remove from microwave and add the rest of the ingredients.  Stir until well coated.

IMG_3354

Sprinkle the crumb topping over the apple mixture.

IMG_3355

Microwave for another 2 to 2-1/2 minutes.

IMG_3356

It was really delicious, but very sweet!  I’m a sweet tooth, but this was a little much.  I put my suggestions in parenthesis next to the original recipe.

I had to laugh when I was making this because I had just bought a new set of teaspoons.  The old sets have a tablespoon, teaspoon, 1/2 and 1/4 teaspoon.  This new set has a tablespoon, 1/2 tablespoon, teaspoon and 1/2 teaspoon.  Don’t people these days know that a tablespoon is three teaspoons?  LOL!  Guess they should incorporate home economics back into the system:)

Serve with a little ice cream or plain for a nice treat or dessert.

Leave a Reply

