Something's Cooking

Taco in a bag

One of my favorite foods at our county Fair is the Taco In a Bag from the Church Stand.  When I worked in town, I would go there at least once for lunch during the fair and sometimes more than that.

Today, I was thinking about that and since the fair is not until next summer, I thought i would try it at home.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t find the small fritos bags, so I will have Taco in a Bowl–but hopefully it tastes as good!

All you need is 1 1/2 pounds hamburger, taco seasoning, finely diced sweet onion, shredded cheese, sour cream, picante sauce and Fritos.

Brown the hamburger and add one package of taco seasoning.  If you would rather make your own homemade, the recipe is here.  I make this in bulk and use it all the time.  If you are trying to watch your carbs (which I attempt to do a lot of the time) making your own seasoning mixes is definitely the way to go. Pre-packaged seasonings have sugar and a lot of the time flour or corn starch.

2013-09-03 18.10.41

Very finely diced onion is one of the best things from the church stand.  If you don’t have a kitchen utensil to do this, it will take a bit of time–but it is well worth the effort!

Our fair doesn’t serve tomatoes on theirs–but I absolutely love tomatoes and add them to lots of dishes.

Everything else is simple and comes pre-cut or pre-shredded.

Now if you do it the traditional way, you will open up a baby bag of fritos and put in some taco meat and top it with shredded cheddar cheese, diced onions and your choice of sour cream, picante sauce and black olives.

2013-09-03 18.21.03

Since I don’t have little bags–I just started with chips and layered it all in my bowl.  I kept it a bit separate, thought it might look better in pics. 🙂

2013-09-03 18.21.16 Mmm.  Mmmm.  Good!

Leave a Reply

