Let's Get Crafty / Something's Cooking

Cold Infusion Essential Oils

Since I would have to drive 45 miles to buy essential oils, I decided to try to make some of my own.   I saw Lovin’ Soap‘s website and decided I could give it a try.  They give excellent information on both hot and cold infusion using these cute tea bags.  Guess I’ll have to see if the kitchen store in Manhattan has any for me to try next time.

IMG_3242

I chose a few of my favorite spices, grabbed two canning jars and my bottle of olive oil.  I decided to pair green peppercorns with caraway seed in one jar.  In the other jar, I combined whole cloves, ground nutmeg and ground cinnamon.

IMG_3243

I wrote what I was putting in the jars on the lid with a sharpie.  As you can see, I put one tablespoon of each spice/seasoning in each jar.  In the jar with two spices, I added 2/3 cups of olive oil (because that’s all I had left!) and in the jar with three seasonings, I added 1 cup of olive oil.  The site I referenced suggested 2 tablespoons of powdered spices per 5 ounces of oil.  When they used dry herbs, they filled the jar and covered it with oil.

IMG_3244

Since I’m doing these cold infusion, I’m just going to let them sit on the counter for a few weeks and see how they turn out.  When I get ready to use them, I’ll have to strain the oil away from the seasonings.  Be prepared for updates along the way:)

Leave a Reply

