Don't Trash It! Up-cycle! / Let's Get Crafty

DIY: Frosted glass

I looked at my local store for glass etching cream.  They didn’t have any, but I saw some spray on stuff to “frost” glass.  I looked on the internet and saw several posts about tying rubber bands around bar glasses and then spraying the frost on them.

This was another of those things that looked simple enough.  Wrap rubber bands on in the design you want and then spray the frost on.

2013-08-26 18.36.49

So, I wrapped rubber bands.  Snapped myself a couple of times too, dang it!  Some slid off or slid around.  I was a wee bit frustrated.

Then I tried to spray the glasses.  This is NOT something you can do indoors, no matter how good of a little paint room you attempt to build out of cardboard and plastic.  This stuff gets everywhere, and it stinks to high heaven!

So, I sprayed a light coat on each glass and let it dry.

2013-08-26 18.38.39It didn’t look frosted enough, so I added some more paint.

2013-08-26 18.43.45

I wondered how it looked and took the rubber bands off one glass.  What a disappointment!  The spray gunked up around the rubber band and even dripped in places.  I was able to scrape it smooth with my finger nail, but the hardened paint kind of hurt too.

Then I washed the glasses to see if they would look better.  Not a really great result.

2013-08-26 19.27.192013-08-26 19.28.03

2013-08-26 19.27.00

3 thoughts on “DIY: Frosted glass

Leave a Reply

