Something's Cooking

Spinach & Artichoke dip

I love spinach artichoke dip.  I think it could almost be considered a vegetarian supper.  How healthy I would be! 😉

It is easy to make, not necessarily the cheapest appetizer but definitely worth it.

One thing to note–I can and do substitute a lot.  When you live in the boonies, it is a part of life.  But, no matter what you read on the internet, do not substitute mayo for the alfredo.  It tastes horrible.

So what do you need?

Frozen spinach

a can of artichoke hearts

parmesan & romano cheese

shredded mozzarella cheese

one package cream cheese

alfredo sauce

garlic cloves

2013-09-02 16.12.16

I melt a few tablespoons of butter in my skillet, dice up 2 or 3 garlic cloves and sautee them.  I also chop a bit of sweet onion, but you don’t have to add it.  Again, that is something I add just because I like it.  I add the artichoke hearts just to mix up the flavors a bit.  They seem to “meld” better while warm.

After that, I just mix the spinach, onion/garlic/artichoke heart mixture, cheeses and alfredo sauce in a bowl.  Then, I spray a 9×13 pan and spread the mixture out in it.

2013-09-02 16.17.14

Bake at 350 degrees until bubbly and lightly browned.

Let it cool a bit before you dig in.  That bubbling cheese can do a number on the roof of your mouth!!

2013-09-02 17.08.05

Leave a Reply

