Something's Cooking

Steel Cut Oats with Apples and Cinnamon

Since the kids were in town and I had to be away from the house this morning, I decided to try some steel cut oats in the crockpot.

IMG_3177

Combine the following in your crockpot:

1 cup steel cut oats

3 diced apples

1 cup apple juice

3 cups water

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

IMG_3179

I got a little more than a 1/2 tsp cinnamon in mine because I wasn’t expecting it to come out as fast as it did!

Cook on low for 2-4 hours.

IMG_3185

I wasn’t home to try the final product, but Briana (my daughter) said it was a little bland, but the apples and oats had cooked to the right consistency.  I had her add some sugar and that made them happy.

Leave a Reply

