Don't Trash It! Up-cycle! / Let's Get Crafty

Picket fence headboard and sign

We have a lot of old picket fence boards back behind our garden shed.  The former owners had a fence, but it was falling down so we took it down.

2013-09-04 18.59.14It is just old board, but perfect for chalk paint.  Chalk paint can be used on painted, stained, nasty board that would take a lot of prep work with other paint.  I love the chalk paint online, but hate the price, so I make my own.  Latex paint and plaster of paris.  I never measure anything, so I am not sure how much–but enough to thicken the paint but not enough to make it too thick to spread.  I’ve read you should only use flat paint, but I’ve used satin with good results.  I’ve even used gloss if that is all I have on hand.  If it gets too thick, all you have to do is add water to thin it down.  This paint is awesome!

If you want amounts, here is a site that will show you how to make your own chalk paint.

I just took a section of the fence and left it hooked together.  I flipped it over to the right side and painted it.  You don’t have to be as careful or precise since you want the paint to look aged.

2013-09-04 18.58.00

I put it behind the bed.  It makes it look like a huge day couch.

2013-09-04 18.57.52I had some boards left over and felt like painting.  I really enjoy playing with that chalk paint!  So, I made a set of signs for above the bed.  I will hang it in a Z just like it is laid out.  Pretty fitting for a mini-bedroom, huh?

2013-09-04 18.58.57I know when Shakespeare wrote this, it meant something else.  But, to me it just means “go to sleep & maybe you will dream”.

Besides the meanings of words can change.  When I was a kid, I shared my thongs with my sisters all the time.  Now, well, I wouldn’t! 😉

2 thoughts on “Picket fence headboard and sign

Leave a Reply

