Let's Get Crafty

Quick and Easy Homemade Playdough

Since my granddaughter is coming up to visit this weekend, I decided I better make some more homemade playdough for her since she mixed the entire last batch together and it is now an ugly gray blob.

IMG_3165

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons salt

1 cup water

2 tablespoons vegetable or canola oil

1 tablespoon cream of tartar

1 cup all purpose flour

food coloring

IMG_3166

Toss all of the ingredients in a pan over pretty high heat, medium if you’re not in a hurry and stir continuously.  This process is pretty speedy.

IMG_3168

Stir and cook until it all pulls away from the sides of the pan into a large ball.

IMG_3169

Then turn it out onto a lightly floured countertop and knead until the texture is consistent.

I’d let it cool just a little at this point, if I weren’t so impatient.

IMG_3170

I divided my batch up into four fairly equal parts and made an indentation in each one to put the food coloring.  Add the coloring until you achieve your desired shade.  I always start mixing my yellow first so that it isn’t messed up by the other colors.

Squeeze or knead the color into the dough by doing the “hand toss” method (at least that’s what I call it).  It’s where you squeeze the ball in one hand then toss it to the other hand and squeeze it, back and fourth until your color is mixed through completely.  It’s a real good forearm exercise.  Tired this fat gal out in no time flat, but I persevered and got all four colors mixed!

IMG_3171

I ended up with four different colors of playdough with a really nice texture, and a colorful hand:) Hopefully Twyla lets the colors remain the way they are for a while and doesn’t make another gray blob.  If so, it is really quick and easy, so I can always make more!

One thought on “Quick and Easy Homemade Playdough

  1. Omg I used make this as a child (well something similar) – it was so much fun to make as well as play with 🙂 This post is a little trip down memory lane for me. I think I might make this with my sister soon (she has special needs) and would love it .. thanks for the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

