Let's Get Crafty

Ring bearer’s wooden box

My daughter pinned this box for the rings and I thought it looked simple enough.  The original one is here.

I went to Hobby Lobby and bought a little wooden box.  It was surprisingly cheap!  Under $3.

I gathered the few supplies I needed:

Wooden box

Stain

foam brush

white paint & brush  (I substituted finger nail polish)

cloth for rings (haven’t decided on this yet)

varnish

Plain wooden box from Hobby Lobby

2013-09-02 13.07.02

This is a 2 sided box–one side for the groom’s ring & one for the bride. 🙂

2013-09-02 13.07.15

With the varnish on it, it started to look really pretty.  The little brass clasp is a nice touch.

2013-09-03 18.16.03

I love the old time look of the heart with the initials inside.

2013-09-03 18.15.26The white paint was a little harder to do than I thought.  Even though the stain was dry, the paint kept bleeding out.  So, I sanded it down and re-stained it.  Then I decided to try a fingernail polish pen, the skinny kind that you draw pictures on your nails with.

This worked great!

2013-09-03 19.22.43

I still need to put cloth in both sides of the box for the rings to rest in, but haven’t decided if I want to go with their wedding colors or with a white velvet look.

Leave a Reply

