Don't Trash It! Up-cycle! / Let's Get Crafty

No-Sew T-Shirt Pillow

After working an 11-1/2 hour day today, I didn’t really have much ambition to do a project when I got home.

I’d thought about making some really delicious looking pumpkin donuts, but after reading through the recipe, I needed a mini donut pan which I obviously didn’t have or you would be reading about how scrumptious the donuts were.  So I went with Plan B – making a no-sew T-shirt pillow thanks to the awesome directions from MODgrls.

IMG_3150

All you need is an old T-shirt and some stuffing.  By the end of this project, I found out why they called for an X-Large T-shirt instead of a Medium or Large.  The X-Large gives you way more room to work with so that you can have longer strands to tie.  Guess I’ll have to raid some of my dad’s XX-Large shirts!

Anyway, lay the T-shirt out and draw a chalk line around the area you want to have showing when it’s done.   I just used some of my granddaughters sidewalk chalk for this.

IMG_3151

Cut 3″ outside of your chalk line.  I didn’t have quite 3″ because of the size of the shirt.

IMG_3153

Then make 1″ wide slice marks to your chalk line.  You can pitch the corners because they won’t be needed.

IMG_3154

Then start tying your strands in knots most of the way around.

IMG_3155

I left the middle four sets on the end open so that I could stuff it with polyfill.  You could also use a pillow form if you had one.  Or if you have a grandma with lots of pantyhose, those would work, too.

IMG_3156

After filling it to your liking, tie the remaining sets of strands together and you have a cute little pillow.  Next time I’ll definitely try and find a bigger T-shirt or one with a smaller design on the front.

One thought on “No-Sew T-Shirt Pillow

Leave a Reply

