Let's Get Crafty

Can You Hear Me Now Quiet Book Page

I remember when I was growing up I just loved going to our neighbor ladies house because she had a quiet book.  It was the kind with zippers, buttons, snaps and hooks and I always thought it was the neatest thing.

Searching the internet you can find literally thousands of different pages, so I thought I’d start trying to make a page here and there to put together for my granddaughter when it’s closer to Christmas.

IMG_3133

First I looked around the house and found a variety of fabrics and notions.  Unfortunately since I’ve moved recently, I can’t find any snaps, hooks, zippers, etc.  It’s really frustrating that it’s somewhere here.   I just don’t know where!

IMG_3134

I needed a template to cut my pages and settled on a box of lights.  Come to find out, it’s about the same size as a sheet of felt.  I chose more vintage looking fabrics to use for the pages rather than using felt because I figured cloth would wash better if it ever needed washing.

IMG_3135

After cutting out some blank “pages”, I had to figure out what to put on it.  Since I didn’t have snaps to do any of the cute pages that require them, I decided to go 21st century and make a page that utilized an old cell phone.

I had some vinyl – no idea why, but for some reason I had red, beige and baby blue vinyl – and cut a square out of the red to make a pocket to hold the phone.

IMG_3137

Next I added a button to the top of the pocket and then attached some thin elastic cord to the fabric that will be behind the phone.

IMG_3138

The elastic goes over the phone and around the button to hold the phone in place.

IMG_3142

Then I cut the end off of the phone charger and sewed it towards the bottom of the page.  So that the end would be covered, I put a strip of felt at the bottom.  Now my granddaughter can “charge” her phone after calling me:)

IMG_3144

For the back side of the page (or front page depending on how I put the pages together in the book), I grabbed some double fold bias tape and found my jar of odds and ends of washer, nuts, etc.  There’s even a spinner from a fishing jig on there, but luckily my dad doesn’t read our blog!

I sewed the tops of the bias strips down first, then strung some of the hardware on to them.   After stringing them with hardware, I stitched the bottoms of the bias tape in place.  Then I cut two pieces of felt, one for the top of the page and one for the bottom to cover the ends of the tape and sewed them on with a decorative stitch.  I just got a new sewing machine, so what better way to try out all of the cool stitches available!

IMG_3145

I placed my two pages wrong sides together and found a package (which is probably antique) of wider bias tape to use as a border to join the two pages together.

IMG_3146

I pinned the tape all of the way around the page and tried to make the corners not look too busy, then stitched around it using a zig zag stitch to try and catch everything.

Quiet Book 1

And there you have it!  My first page of hopefully many for Twyla’s quiet book.

Leave a Reply

