Something's Cooking

Home-made Refried Beans and Burritos to Freeze

My son loves frozen burritos, so I decided to give it a try and make home-made refried beans.

IMG_3053

I started off with a small bag of pinto beans.

IMG_3054

Pour the beans in to a large bowl and cover with at least 2″ of water.  Pick out any debris you see. Let these stand over night.

IMG_3056

The next morning I drained the water off of the beans, added half of a sweet onion, two chicken bouillon cubes and 1-1/2 teaspoons of garlic salt.  Fill to almost the top of the cooker with water.  Cover and let it cook in the crock pot for 8 hours on low or 4 hours on high.  I’m not very patient, so I did the 4 hours on high.

IMG_3060

This is what you’ll see when the 4 hours are up.  Not very pretty, but they’re going to be tasty!

IMG_3062 I used a slotted spoon and retrieved all of my beans from the crock pot so that I could save the liquid that they cooked in.  Add 2 tablespoons of butter and a little liquid.  The website I followed (today’s mama)  said to mash them with a potato masher.

IMG_3063

Once again, I’m not patient enough for a potato masher, so I got out my electric mixer.  I kept adding liquid to the beans as I went along because they have a tendency to dry out quickly.

IMG_3064

My final product.

IMG_3065

I got out some tortilla’s and shredded cheddar cheese to make burritos for the freezer.

IMG_3066

I put a healthy spoonful of beans in the middle of the tortilla and a handful of cheese.

IMG_3067

Rolled them up burrito style then wrapped them in aluminum foil to be frozen in.

IMG_3069

I ended up with probably a dozen burritos to be frozen, a little container of extra refried beans and my lunch!

Leave a Reply

