Don't Trash It! Up-cycle! / Let's Get Crafty

Scarf made out of Old T-Shirts

If you’re like me, you have tons of old T-shirts that aren’t worn anymore, but you really don’t want to just trash them or give them away.  I had seen a picture online of a scarf made out of T-shirts, but there were no instructions at all, just a picture so I decided to try my luck.

IMG_3025

I went upstairs and grabbed six or seven T-shirts that I thought would be appropriate for this.

IMG_3026

I cut the sides and neck off to a size that I felt would work pretty well.  No measuring, just cutting.

IMG_3027

I even cut some smaller strips so that it wouldn’t be boring.

IMG_3028

Then I stacked the backs beside the fronts so that they would all be in the same order.

IMG_3029

Sew them together right sides facing only on the tops and bottoms of the panels.  You’ll end up with two long strips – the front pieces and the back pieces.

After you have your two strips, lay them out with right sides facing and start sewing them together.  I left one end open so that it could be turned right side out again.

IMG_3030

Put your entire arm in the tube and grab the end seam.  Pull it through so that the scarf right side out.

IMG_3032

I didn’t really care about how pretty it turned out, so I folded the top inside and stitched close to the edge.  If you want it to look nicer, I’d hand stitch it with a hidden stitch.

IMG_3033

I guess you can sort of see the final product.  My arms aren’t quite long enough and I didn’t want to break my camera by including my head!  I think it turned out okay for not having any instructions.

3 thoughts on “Scarf made out of Old T-Shirts

  1. That is a great idea! I’ve made a ton of pillows out of old t-shirts but I don’t think I have anyone else to give them to at this point. This will definitely be next on my list.

Leave a Reply

